1. It is better to sign-up/log-in before you post your question (or reply to an existing thread), instead of posting as a guest.
    This will allow you to easily look up the Q&A sequence anytime, anywhere, with just one mouse click. Learn more...

You can log in with your Facebook, Twitter, or Google+ accounts, or create a KVMGalore HelpCenter user-name/password.
    Dismiss Notice

Switch KVM switch product recommendation needed

Discussion in 'KVM' started by Brad, Feb 10, 2020.

1. Brad

Brad Guest

I'm a newbie to KVM switches. I'm just a homeowner wanting to connect 3 laptops and a wireless mouse and keyboard to a single Dell USB-C display (model P2720DC) that has 2560x1440 resolution at 60Hz. I need a KVM or HDMI switch product recommendation, and/or your advice. I see various KVM switches on the market that cost hundreds, even thousands, and I cannot afford those. I was hoping for something around $100 or less. Of course I see a lot of products on Amazon but many get poor reviews. Not wanting to waste money.

2. KVMGalore Expert

KVMGalore Expert Staff Member

Hello Brad,

Thank you for reaching out on our HelpCenter. We have some clarifying questions:

1) What type video ports do your 3 laptops have (if any)?
    2) What type USB ports do your 3 laptops have?
    3) It appears your monitor also has HDMI and DisplayPort inputs. Please confirm this.

Answering these questions will allow us to make a recommendation - please advise.

Important note: To continue this discussion - please respond via KVMGalore HelpCenter thread, NOT via e-mail.

3. Brad

Brad Guest

One laptop is a Microsoft Surface which has Mini DisplayPort and USB.

The other two are Lenovo and HP laptops which have HDMI and USB.

So I was thinking the KVM switch would be HDMI to all 3, using an HDMI to Mini DisplayPort adapter on the Surface.

4. KVMGalore Expert

Hello Brad,

Thanks for your feedback.